Catch up Post – Q4 2014 Finishes

Yeah, this blog is a bit neglected, but still want to check in every now and then to chart what I have managed to complete and what is cooking…

This quarter, I finished Rainbow Squares, which was gifted to youngest for her birthday (although I’m not sure it would be chosen over the Frozen doona cover that nearest-and-dearest has requested for her for Christmas! I should have basted better as some of the squares are more parallelogram than square (presumably due to the long lines), but overall, I’m pretty happy.

Rainbow Squares Quilt

Rainbow Squares Quilt

Grungy Night Sky and Original Night Sky were also completed in time for Christmas. These are for my friend’s daughters. The aim was to make 2 that were similar but not the same. I think the prints versus solids worked well for that.

Night Sky Quilt in solids

Night Sky Quilt in solids

Night Sky Quilt in print fabrics on grungy background

Night Sky Quilt in print fabrics on grungy background

Sister Night Sky Quilts for Sisters

Sister Night Sky Quilts for Sisters

I took part in my first swap, the IGminiswap, and my mini-quilt was sent off to England. Thankfully the recipient was happy as I was very nervous!

Mini Swoon made for #igminiswap

Mini Swoon made for #igminiswap

I signed up for Sarah Fielke’s little quilts swap too. This was sent to a lovely lady close by who was also happy. The colours on this were a challenge for me, and difficult to photograph, but I was pleased with how it worked out in the end.

Mini Quilt made for #littlequiltsswap

Mini Quilt made for #littlequiltsswap

I made a quick charity quilt as part of Brisbane MQG’s pre-Christmas donations to Giv-it. Barely had enough time, so just quilted a couple of panels together. Hope it made someone smile.

Maisy Donation Quilt

Maisy Donation Quilt

I mainly failed on Christmas gifts, with skirts, bedside caddies, and a simple doll going unmade. I did, however, manage quick teacher gifts of quilted journal covers and a baby play-quilt for our nephew’s new bub-to-be.

Baby Play Quilt from Bluebird Park jelly roll at FQS's Jelly Roll Jam pattern.

Baby Play Quilt from Bluebird Park jelly roll at FQS’s Jelly Roll Jam pattern.

Journal Covers Teacher Gifts

Journal Covers Teacher Gifts

I also failed on a couple of blocks-of-the-month that I started the year with. I will pick them up again at some point, but for now, the Aurifil and the Globetrotting BOMs are on the UFO pile.

Still many other works in progress, but I’ll cover those in my plans for 2015. I feel less of a beginner now, and am starting to develop my own style and aesthetic, I think. Still so much to learn, but overall, it’s been a good year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

